Meet Author Adite Banerjie

I am delighted to interview Adite Banerjie today. Adite has been writing professionally ever since she graduated from college. Let’s talk to her about her latest book.

troublehasanew name

  • Welcome Adite! I am curious about your writing process. Tell us if you outline first? How much time do you spend in plotting? 

Hi Aditi. Thanks for hosting me on your blog. This is the first time that I have an interviewer who shares my name and it feels like I’m talking to myself!

My writing process changes with every project. It depends on the aspect that I find most intriguing or fascinating about my WIP. For instance, when I started writing The Indian Tycoon’s Marriage Deal, I was fascinated with the dilemma of a woman who falls in love with the son of the man she wants to destroy. So I started thinking about who this girl is, what she does for a living, what’s her background, and how she would come into contact with a guy who lives in a world that is completely different from her own. To find some of the answers I started working on the heroine’s character and the plot began to take shape. As a result, I outlined my story very thoroughly before I started writing it.

For my second book, Trouble Has A New Name, I focused mainly on the characterization as the story is set in a wedding and has more to do with the inter-relationships between the characters. So, for this book I didn’t plot the storyline too rigorously.

  • Scenes are where a book comes alive. Which scene in your book is your favorite? Why?

In The Indian Tycoon’s Marriage Deal, I love the scene where Maya and Krish meet each other for the first time and Krish asks her for a dance. It was something that I could visualize in my mind —a glittering party, the lavish ambiance, the sensual moves of a couple doing the tango and sizzling chemistry …all in all a true blue Bollywood cute-meet scene!

As you can guess I’m a big Bollywood fan, and not surprisingly, my favorite scene in Trouble has a New Name is the one featuring Agra Aunty at the sangeet rehearsal.

  • We have more than the name in common, I am a Bollywood fan as well. Tell us about your favorite character in your books?

In The Indian Tycoon’s Marriage Deal, Maya is my favorite. She is passionate and independent, with a core of strength that comes from her emotional trauma. There is also a vulnerability and an innocence to her. When she falls in love with Krish, she struggles to do the right thing for her family. I loved writing her character.

In Trouble Has a New Name, I loved writing Rayna Dutt who is a bundle of contradictions. She is independent and feisty and yet is absolutely paranoid of what people will think about her. She is all professional ramp model one minute and klutz the next… It was fun coming up with the crazy situations that she finds herself in.

  • Besides writing, what is your favorite hobby that helps you relax?

My husband and I are huge movie buffs. Spending an evening watching back to back movies is a great way to unwind. I also love spending time with my dog, Veeroo. He is getting old and is not as active as he used to be but when it comes to amusing antics, Veeroo is an excellent performer!

  • What do you find most challenging while writing a book? For instance, I often find writing the middle part challenging.

Honestly speaking, writing a book is a constant challenge. Cranking up characters that are likeable and engaging, creating a storyline that will hold the interest of readers, making sure the plot works seamlessly…sometimes I wonder why I want to go through that process every time! Of course, that doesn’t mean I don’t enjoy writing. Just that there are days when it seems to flow beautifully and then there are those when nothing seems to work. So I prefer to take it one day at a time—with fingers firmly crossed!

You certainly are passionate about writing! It was a pleasure talking to you Adite!

Adite’s Book Links:

Amazon.com | Amazon.in | FlipKart 

Social Media Links:

Website : http://aditebanerjie.com/
Facebook : https://www.facebook.com/aditebanerjie?fref=ts&ref=br_tf
Twitter : https://twitter.com/adite
Goodreads : https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7083664.Adite_Banerjie

4 thoughts on “Meet Author Adite Banerjie

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Up ↑

