Chat with Author Summerita Rhayne

Author Summerita Rhayne loves to write sensual and emotional romance. Let’s chat with her today to learn about her books and fiction writing in general.

Against-all-rules-cover

  • Welcome Summerita! Tell us, what inspired you to become a writer?

I would say a big part of the inspiration was reading. Becoming lost in all the different worlds and able to live vicariously all the characters lives and their exciting journeys. I was off spinning stories before I knew it and penning them seemed a natural follow up…

  • How did you come up with the concept of your book? What was the inspiration behind it?

I don’t know how I came upon them but I had these characters in my mind for a long time. A man who is embittered by his divorce and his secretary who’s halfway being in love with him but too proud and introvert to show it. At first in my story, it was an accident he suffered which brought them together but then when I started writing the book, it morphed to a new situation. You have to read the book to see what that is!

  • Which scene in your book is your favorite? Why?

My favorite scene is when he propositions her. He suggests a short term affair which shows how much he is bound by his internal demons because that’s exactly the sort of thing he never would suggest to his PA in usual circumstances. That is a turning point for him. And also for Samara because she must make a decision that is hard for her both ways.

  • You have some interesting characters. Tell us, how do you go about developing characters of your book?

Mostly the story arises in my mind as a situation but of course you cannot go on just by a story idea. It’s only gradually that characters become clearer and that takes a lot of writing and rewriting. I used to fill in character sheets when I started out and they can be really useful. Especially to keep track of their histories. Holly Lisle has this great character designing sheet you can use http://hollylisle.com/the-character-workshop-designing-a-life/

  • Thank you for the great tip on character development! How much research do you do for your books?

Quite an extensive chunk though most of it doesn’t appear in the book. I like to have characters in different professions and places than mine, so research is definitely required! Then it’s a question of the mindset of the character also. If the heroine is a horse trainer for example, I would have to have most of the knowledge a horse trainer is expected to have – at least as far as is relevant in my book. In a book which focuses on emotional struggle of the character, this may not be visible in the book but should not be wrong for the character if you know what I mean.

  • Yes, definitely emotions are a big part of romance books. What do you find most challenging while writing a book?

A book is a challenge all the way but especially difficult for me is fitting in logic to the story. I expect it’s difficult for most writers since right brain which is responsible for creativity hasn’t a clue about logical thinking! It’s a bad speller too. For example I write a scene in which heroine is caught in the rain and forced to propinquity with the hero and I can picture them in the kitchen when she comes for a nightly tea comfort. I can see they are in night gear and write accordingly but can you imagine how difficult it is to work out the reasoning of that? How did they get close to his house to take shelter there? Was it the season for heavy rain? How did she come by the night gear? So, I have my work cut out channeling right brain whimsies to rigid left common sense.

  • Yup, we all balance between right and left brain, I love that part about writing. What advice do you have for an aspiring author?

I think I am still aspiring in some ways to become an author. For what it’s worth, here’s my take on writing. Read voraciously in your favorite genre and start writing in that. Don’t dream too high, don’t have too many expectations from your writing but don’t give up either. Above all, keep your eyes open and trust your instincts. Be prepared to be a marketer as well as author if you’re serious about publishing.

  • Your advice is bang on! Which book are you working on next? Do you want to share a glimpse of it?

I’m currently working on a historical romance. It is set in the Early Middle Ages in India around 600AD. I’ve always found the era of Maharajas and pretty princesses very romantic. In this book the heroine, Rukmani, is the youngest daughter of the Kamboj clan who finds King Deveshwaraya too attractive for her peace of mind. But the problems of monarchy stand between them. Here’s a teaser for you:

Hidden-passionHidden Passion
…when the walls of politics rise high between them, will her passion prevail?….

Excerpt:
Rukmani paused, her eyes anxious as he turned away. Was this what love was? Did she love him? Was that why she had come to him, forsaking even the family she had been cocooned in? She only knew she wanted him, more than any other man on earth. And she wasn’t giving up till she had him, even if it was just for a short span of time. Was it lust or love? Or both? Whatever it was, was a heady thing.

Thank you, Aditi, I loved answering your questions.

My pleasure, it was great having you visit my blog!

Summerita’s Book Links:

Amazon.com:  http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00MY2QVRS
Amazon.in:  http://www.amazon.in/gp/product/B00MY2QVRS?*Version*=1&*entries*=0
Amazon.co.uk:  http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B00MY2QVRS?*Version*=1&*entries*=0
Amazon.com.au:  https://www.amazon.com.au/dp/B00MY2QVRS

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/work/editions/42661854-against-all-rules

Social media Links:

Website: http://www.summeritarhayne.com
Twitter: https://twitter.com/SummeritaRhayne

 

Leave a Reply

Up ↑

