Interview with Author Devika Fernando

Let’s welcome Author Devika Fernando and chat with her about her latest book.

Blank bookcover with clipping path

  • Devika, tell us what inspired you to become a writer?

Reading and my love for language. I was a bookworm even as a child, and as soon as I knew how to write, I did it.

I wanted to create magic like the other authors.

  • What is your writing process? How much time do you spend in plotting?

As soon as an idea hits me, I write it down in a special notebook I have for that. At that time, I usually outline the plot and conflicts and short descriptions of the protagonists. As soon as I feel like working on a story, I create documents on my PC. I create character sheets and sometimes chapter summaries or important research items. The rest all happens while writing, so I don’t plot too intensively.

  • How much research do you do for your books?

I usually try to keep the research light – probably because I have to do research all the time for main job (as a web content writer). For my first three books, there was not much to research. This was different for the co-authored book “Forbidden” and is also different for my upcoming novel “Saved in Sri Lanka”. Both of them involved lots of geoographic research about locations as well as other research. I’ve discovered this can be fun if you know where and how to search.

  • Tell us, who is your favorite character in your book? Why?

I think I like Felicia the most. She’s full of strength and determination once she discovers her true nature, and she learns not to be afraid of risks and of change.

  • What is one thing you want readers to take away from your book?

To believe in themselves, and to never give up.

It’s the lesson my heroine ultimately learns too.

  • What has been your most rewarding experience as an author?

The whole experience as such is rewarding. Apart from that, 5 star reviews are always nice.

  • Do you have any book marketing tip you want to share with your fellow authors?

I don’t quite like just selling my book. What I prefer is to support others and share so I can create a general interest in great books.

I also think choosing a picture that goes well with your post on social media is a good idea. It’s an eye catcher that will make people want to check out an excerpt or link.

Great suggestion! I wish you good luck with your writing!

Devika’s Book Links:

Amazon.com, Amazon.in, Smashwords

Social Media Links:

Website: http://www.devikafernando.com/

Facebook : https://www.facebook.com/devikafernandoauthor

Twitter: https://twitter.com/Author_Devika

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7980006.Devika_Fernando

Leave a Reply

