Interview with Author Larry B. Gray

Lets welcome Author Larry B. Gray and get to know him and his book better.

A-Boy-from-down-east

 

  • Welcome Larry! Please tell us a little bit about how you started writing.

I have always been an avid reader and often thought about writing. With work and family there never seemed to be the time. Several years ago when blogging started to become popular I started blogging. They say a writer should write what he is familiar with and I am familiar with me.

After blogging stories about my youth I began to get suggestions from people, literally, from all over the world saying I should write a book. So I did.

  • That’s wonderful. Please tell us briefly about your book.

I grew up in eastern North Carolina in a small rural community during the 1950’s and 1960’s which was the best possible childhood you could wish for. Family, church, friends, school, and working on the farm was the center of my world.

I have often heard people say ‘if only I could change this or that of my past’ or ‘if only I knew then what I know now.’ I would not change anything because this is what made me who I am today.

This is a collection of stories of my childhood. I hope by reading these stories the reader is able to think back good memories from their youth.

  • What is one thing you want readers to take away from your book?

The most important lesson I learned dealt with marriage. Watching Granddaddy and Grandmomma work together to make their life taught me how marriage is supposed to be. I saw them laugh together, cry together and most importantly pray together; sharing in everything they did, a true team. Throughout the book family plays a vital part in happiness.

  • What has been your most rewarding experience as an author?

With this book it has been the response I have gotten from readers all over the world. People have told me about their experiences growing up and how similar they are to mine. Some of the countries these have come from are Australia, India, Russia, Switzerland, Canada and more.

  • That’s awesome! What advice do you have for an aspiring author?

Write. If you think you can; write. If you don’t think you can; write. If you are tired, write. But most importantly, if you really, really want it, write.

 

Larry’s Book Links:  Kindle, Nook, Smashwords, Paperback

Social Media Links:

Facebook Author Page: https://www.facebook.com/larrybgray

Book Reviews by Larry:
http://www.bookreviewsbylarrybgray.blogspot.com

Author’s Website:
http://www.larrygraysells.com

 

Leave a Reply

