Dialogue vs. Narration

aditi-in-Italy

We have all heard of the “Show and don’t tell” technique in fiction writing. It’s easier said than done, though. As, I am starting to write my next story, I have to constantly remind myself to not let go of this very important technique.

When you start to write a story, it is so much easier to simply narrate it like you would narrate to another person. However, books are different! Readers read books because they want to enjoy the process. They want to be able to make their own conclusions, feel emotions, solve mysteries etc.

Therefore as writers, we have to be aware while writing, if the words written will serve the purpose of stimulating the readers. It is a difficult task that a writer has to keep in mind every step of the way!

Whenever I start to write a new story, I revise my first two scenes (at least) several times until I feel like I have a good balance of dialogue vs. narration. Once I feel that I am in the zone, I keep writing…


Aditi Chopra is an author of NRI fiction and non-fiction books.
Facebook
|  Web Twitter | Books

Leave a Reply

Up ↑

