Interview with Author Anupam Srivastava!

Today, I welcome Author Anupam Srivastava on my blog! Lets chat with Anupam about writing in general.

Brown-Sahebs

1) Hello Anupam! Please tell us what inspired you to become a writer?

Among most things I did as a child, I enjoyed writing and it was also what got me a little appreciation. My teachers would sometimes praise me so much that it became embarrassing for me. Anybody’s friends would treat them as a distant acquaintance if they got too much appreciation. At this stage I was writing essays and stories on suggested topics. Later, I started getting excited about ideas that would come to me mysteriously, and I would write them down else they would not show themselves again to me. That was the only way to imprison them. This continued and became a way of life with me – some ideas became poems, some others short stories. The bigger ones lent themselves as the basis for novels.

I have been inspired by good books and good writers.

2) How did you come up with the concept of your book? What was the inspiration behind it?

It became apparent to me – when I was a journalist – that India’s hierarchical systems had a historical basis.

I probed a little and a treasure trove of information showed up in the form of books, speeches, and so on. I fitted the pieces together – some history, some story-telling, and it became a novel. I also prepared a PhD proposal on comparing the pre-Independence aspirations and whether these were put into effect. While my PhD did not materialize, I conducted my own study and instead of a thesis wrote a novel.

3) Which scene in your book is your favorite? Why?

That’s a tough one. I like the interviews with Gandhi, descriptions of life in Delhi in those slow-paced times, the scene depicting the assassination of Gandhi and of course the light scenes such as the partridge shoot. I like tension in tense scenes and humor in funny scenes.

A good scene should not have anything superfluous or missing – the right number of words, description and dialogue – when they are woven together by the mysterious thread of skill, a good scene is created.

I am of course a biased judge of my own writing. The appreciation matters when it comes from others but at the same time you have to love your work well enough to consider it good enough to publish.

4) How do you go about developing characters of your book?

The plot demands characters of a type, and I develop these. These are of course drawn from life.

 5) What has been your most rewarding experience as an author?

Some people have loved The Brown Sahebs which has been very gratifying. Having finished a novel of reasonable complexity, I feel equipped to deal with more difficult subjects and am writing on a theme I wouldn’t have touched a few years ago.

Anupam’s Book Links:

Amazon.com, Amazon.in, Goodreads

Anupam’s Social Media Links:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/The-Brown-Sahebs/812002192220010

Twitter: https://twitter.com/anusrivastava

4 thoughts on “Interview with Author Anupam Srivastava!

Leave a Reply

