Author interview with MV Kasi

Let’s welcome author MV Kasi to my blog today!

TSOL-Banner

  • Hello & welcome to my blog! Please tell us, what inspired you to become a writer?

I’m an avid reader who loves reading all genres of books with romance being the main one. During my childhood, I used to write short stories or even make up stories to narrate to my friends during our free time. Lately after reading through thousands of romance books over the past twenty plus years, I have started noticing certain things. Instead of simply enjoying a good book and moving onto the next one, I started thinking about how I would have written it differently instead. About how I would change the plot or change the characters to be able to enjoy it even more. And so, I have recently re-discovered my passion for writing.

I wish I could write a heavy literary masterpiece that would appeal to the book critics. But as the saying goes—if you don’t read it or don’t like it, then don’t write it. I had a story to tell that I was extremely passionate about. I began to write, hoping that my readers could experience the same range of feelings and emotions I felt while narrating it.

  • That’s great. Tell us, how did you come up with the concept of your book? What was the inspiration behind it?

Topics like verbal abuse within marriage or male child preference in a family are not discussed that openly. We know they exist, we even see them happening around us, sometimes  too close for comfort.  But we often look the other way, since they do not usually leave behind any physical pain or scars on the victim.

I wanted to write a story about a woman who has gone through those issues. I had obsessively researched various articles on these topics.  My phone is filled with notes and bookmarks on consequences of verbal abuse and how victims usually cope. Some of the statistics around the world were unbelievable. It also gave me a new found understanding towards victims who have stayed through years of abusive marriage.

I drafted a story to address some of the social issues without being too obtrusive to the core romance story line.

  • That’s remarkable! Which scene in your book is your favorite? Why?

I’m pretty attached to all the scenes and they are all my favorites.

One scene that moved me the most and made me cry while writing it (also each time I re-read it)—was when Mahi recalls one of the last interactions with her son in the hospital. I had put off writing that scene until the end because each time I attempted, I would choke up and run to my son and hug him. He probably thought mommy was weird (or weirder than usual). Finally, when I wrote that scene, it was emotionally very draining but it felt cathartic too.

I think everyone can relate to the feeling of helplessness one feels when their loved one is very sick or hurt. And the range of feelings one feel when a loved one passes away is even more intense. The stages of grief and how one copes is different for everyone.  Some people grow stronger due to it and move on, some people let those moments define their future relationships or interactions and maybe some people block it out completely to live in denial. I have learnt a lot about how people cope with grief both from personal experiences and lots of research.

  • Who is your favorite character in your book? Why?

I love Mahi. In real life I would definitely want someone like her to be my close friend.

To most outsiders, the young Mahi comes off as a bully with attitude issues. She is the product of being a neglected girl-child who seeks attention from her parents by being rebellious and obnoxious. That idea is so far ingrained into her that during her late teens, she turns into a bully. She bullies another character from the book mercilessly due to jealousy and also causes havoc to the hero. It is very easy to hate someone like that and also judge them by their behavior. But sometimes, there is a lot more happening in people’s lives that are not obvious. It doesn’t excuse their behavior, but it can explain why they behaved in a certain way.

The grown up Mahi is totally a different kettle of fish. Things that happened in her life could have easily broken her. But she rises above it and comes out as a survivor. In her new persona, she is bold, very driven and a great friend. However, she also has a lot of flaws due to her deep rooted insecurities.

A lot of us can relate to Mahi’s character in one way or the other.

  • I am so glad that you have published your story. Tell us, what has been your most rewarding experience as an author?

As a newbie author, I didn’t start off writing in an organized or an efficient fashion. I had a small idea and I started writing until I ran out of words.  Even though my characters are not based on real people, I wrote them drawing on their real emotions. It was really unbelievable and exciting to see how a story panned out within a few months of writing. It was a deeply personal experience and I loved the whole process.

When I finally released my book, I was extremely glad when some of my readers told me that my story made them laugh, cry and then fall in love with the characters, rooting for their happily ever after. After getting that kind of feedback, as an author I felt that all the hours I spent obsessively writing the story was well worth it.

That’s awesome! I wish you good luck with the book!

MV-Kasi-Book

 

 

MV Kasi’s Book Link: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/29765282

 

2 thoughts on “Author interview with MV Kasi

Leave a Reply

